An Old School Catholic Message Board

What's Your Story

Joan Marie Wandel

Joan Marie Wandel

Hi all

I thought we all could share our stories of when and maybe where we felt called.

Well anyways I have been discerning for awhile, I first felt called in 2002 when I went to WYD. I came home feeling like I was being called but them decided that I wanted to be married and have children. I wanted the life my parents had. I dated a guy for awhile and I saw my life while he didn't want to get married, but wanted kids. That was an option for me at all marriage first then kids.Now I have been discerning for a couple of years.I feel like God is calling me to become a missionary. I feel very drawn to Maryknoll and plan on visiting them again for a week

This is a great topic for a thread!!

I started to discern about 3 years ago when I was 16. I never had even though I wanted to be a nun ( I was actually repulsed by the idea) until one day when my parish priest said that he thinks I will be a nun. when he said that I felt immense joy and that started me thinking about it. I had never been open to the idea of religious life but for some reason that changed my heart. I tried to pretend it didn't happen and thought to myself "me a nun! HA!". I went around telling everyone I wanted to get married and have a bunch of kids ( I think in protest of the whole thing). By then I was at adoration and I felt Christ say to me "If you love me then follow me". I immediately said yes but then started to think about it and was like" woha! what just happened here!". I finally came around and have been enthusiastically discerning ever since! :nun1:

OnlySunshine

Hehe, I have posted my story several times on the forum, but I'll post it again: