An Old School Catholic Message Board

Open/closed Brethern

Crusader_4

Crusader_4

I have a friend who is a member of the denomination of Open Brethern and another who is Closed brethern i was wondering if anyone here had any insight to this denomination and its theological views in regards to the Catholic Church. Thanx in advance.

wow, that's funny you asked, i just recently joined a bretheren assembly. i'm very new to it, so i'll tell you what basics i know.

the congregations are known as bretheren assemblies, and as a whole i believe they are called Plymouth Bretheren. they believe in simple meetings as the earliest church had them.... Acts chapter 2 is often a reference, where the believers met in each other's homes and broke bread together.

each assembly is independent of the others, and often meet in each others homes or in some other building, but rarely in a typic church. for example, my assembly is too large to meet in a house, over 30 members, so me meet in an old dance studio. there is a small table in the middle, where the Lord's supper is presented. there are chairs on all four sides of the table, as communion is the central aspect of the worship service.

as for the worship service itself....all we have are our bibles and hymbooks. somebody will suggest a hymn to sing, explain why, and we will sing it. this happens a few times. then somebody will look at a piece of Scripture and briefly discuss it, usually centralizing on Christ and what He has done for us and what He will do for us. after saying his piece, the person will usually pray for a short time out loud. after a certain amount of time, somebody will stand up and give thanks for the bread and wine, and distribute the Lord's supper. we usually sing a hymn and pray to close.