An Old School Catholic Message Board

I Need The Honest Truth

Annie12

Please be serious and as honest as possible.  

31 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

I am posting this poll to see what people think... I have a learning disorder and I want to tell people but I have no idea how they will react. I don't want them so see me differently because of it.

I voted for sharing the information. But I'm studying to be a teacher at the moment, so yeah, I like to know such things.

A friend of mine has one too. She decided to tell us. I think it depends a little bit who you want to tell. For us, it didn't make any difference, we understood the difficulties she had and treated her like we did before. In fact, we encouraged her and offered help if she needs it. We don't want to help out of pity or something ("aw, you have a disorder, let me help you"), we just want to help as friends. That's what friends do. And she knows that, so she lets us help.

But now I was talking about friends. Other students or teachers can react totally different. That's for you to decide.

FutureCarmeliteClaire

I wish there was a option for "It doesn't make me see them differently". I have quite a number of people close to me who have a mental disorder, but that is not the same thing as a learning disorder or disability. Idk, I don't think it would make me think of them any different. With my friends with mental disorders, it doesn't really make me think of them much differently. I mean, it depends who the person was, I guess. One of my friends with bipolar had to be institutionalized for a while soon after I met her. We weren't very close, though, so I guess I thought of her differently because I had no idea any of this was going on. We still aren't very close, so it hasn't really made a difference.