An Old School Catholic Message Board

Self-mortification

Kylie Spinelli

Kylie Spinelli

Does anyone have any advice or examples for self-mortification? I'm not looking for anything that could seriously harm someone, but just examples of every day little things to offer up for souls.

And of course before beginning anything I will speak with my spiritual director regarding methods and acts.

Thanks and God bless!!

~Kylie

Sister Marie

I think the most effective mortification is whatever it is that God gives you in your everyday life; a difficulty at work, an argument with your family, an interruption when you are doing something important, an interruption in prayer...

I worked as a caregiver before I entered the convent and it offered more opportunities for mortification than any other time in my life (save living in community with other women religious!). 

Don't try to practice more mortification... find what sacrifices are already present in your daily life and live them with fullness of heart.

PhuturePriest

Saint Anthony of Padua found whipping his back to be a good way to sacrifice. I myself was inspired when I was fourteen, so I used to whip my back with a belt. However, the Church advised against such practices, so I've taken to less physically damaging things like doing school as a penance. I've found it's easy enough to use accidental physical pain as a penance anyway (An accidental stubbed toe is a wonderful opportunity to offer up the pain for the souls in purgatory).

Ex Tyburn Junior

Where to begin???

The nice thing about mortification - and this is the only nice thing about it - is that It's as individual as you are.

• Is food your comfort zone? Then fast, or at least cut out the burgers, or the chocolate bars, or the zucchini fritters, or whatever it is that really floats your boat.
  • Is TV/movies your comfort zone? Cut back.

Other ideas:

• Sugar in your coffee
  • Cigarettes
  • Nail-biting