An Old School Catholic Message Board

Enclosed Male Communities

Anselm

I know that there aren't many male discerners on here, but I would be very grateful for anyone's opinions. I have been drawn to the Benedictine life for several years and now know two different communities very well. I feel that I could be called to either of them but, as they are from different congregations, they live very different lives. One runs a boarding school and several parishes and lives in a rather grand Abbey with a huge church. The other is a much more traditional Benedictine house, much more enclosed. They keep bees and pigs and bind books.

I am currently a teacher and so that provides an attraction to the former, but I can't help feeling that such a life is a little too, well, public and worldly at times for me to really live the Benedictine life. I really don't know!

Any thoughts?

Sister Marie

Anselm, I know you were looking for a male perspective, which I definitely don't have, but I am a religious who is also a teacher.  You are absolutely right that life in the apostolate, especially the apostolate of education, is more public and worldly (for lack of a better word!).  I think its wonderful though that you are really listening and discerning both the talents you have been given (as a teacher) and the desire you have for a more monastic way of life.  

In any religious life where there is an exterior or professional work done by the community, an individual religious will feel the tension that exists in balancing prayer, community, and the apostolate.  That tension is very life-giving for someone who is called to it - it is a conduit for grace and growth in holiness.  For someone who is not called to live that way it is more of a stumbling block.  The same is true the opposite way.