An Old School Catholic Message Board

Questions On Discernment And Telling My Parents About It

Carson

Hello! I'm new to discernment. Around 7 or 8 months ago, some sisters visited my parish. They got me thinking about being a sister and it keeps coming back to me. I'm super excited to learn about the life of a sister, but I'm also a little worried.

First of all, I don't really know how to discern. I know what it is, I just don't really know how. Can someone give me a step-by-step guide?  

I've told multiple friends, my sister, and my priest about my want to become a sister. I'm just worried about my parents. I know for a fact that they will be excited and support me. I just don't want to hurt them. I don't want them to be sad about me not having kids and them not being able to see me often. So,

1. How can I tell my parents? I want them to be involved in my discernment process. How can I show them that I'm very serious about this?

2. When should I tell them? If I do decide to become a sister, it will probably about 3 years before I begin postulancy. How soon should I tell them? Keep in mind that I want them to be a part of the discernment process, but I don't want to tell them too soon, just in case this is a phase. (I really don't think it is.) 

Please help me! Thank you in advance if you do! I appreciate any feedback you can give me. 

TheresaThoma

My best suggestion about telling your parents is do it early on and be very honest. The first two lines of your post would be a great place to start. It might be scary to tell them but trust me it will be much worse if you wait (I know this from painful experience). Don't bring up any "issues" (ie grandkids etc) they may or may not have felt those are issues. They will find enough other stuff to worry about! They will need time to process through this so don't rush them. I'm guessing that you are still living at home with your parents and you will definitely need them "on board" as you continue to discern.