An Old School Catholic Message Board

Breaking The News

gratiaplena

Praised be Jesus Christ!

I am somewhat new to posting here, but I need some advice and thought it would be helpful to get some other discerners' experiences.

I just got back from a beautiful visit at a monastery and truly think that God is calling me there (I have been discerning for about 3 years and have visited 3 different convents). However, my parents have no idea that I'm discerning.. Obviously before I can take another step, I need to tell them. I am struggling with how to bring it up to them, because whenever I have brought up the idea of religious life before, it has been met with negativity. Also, I go to school far away from them and will not see them until summer break. I'm not sure if I should break the news over the phone, but I feel like I am lying to them if I don't tell them soon!

I am planning on talking about this to my spiritual director in a week, but I was just wondering if anyone had experience with this? I am so nervous as my parents are practicing Catholics but have never encouraged religious vocations and although they know I am very serious about my faith, they have no idea I am considering a cloistered religious vocation….

Thanks in advance for your help! 

+JMJ+

Well with technology being advanced as it is, you do have the option to use something like Skype, if your parents have internet access that way there is a slightly better version than just the phone to talk.....