An Old School Catholic Message Board

Spiritual Direction in Cloistered/Contemplative Communities

I<3BVM

Hello, everyone!  I am new to the phorum.  At least, I'm a new registered user. :)  I've been poking around here now and then for awhile.

I am just wondering if anyone has insights on spiritual direction in religious communities, particularly in cloistered/contemplative communities.  I've been told on the one hand that the novice master/mistress is really only responsible for the "external forum," and that there needs to be a separation of the interior and exterior forums, such that novitiate members should be permitted to speak with outside priests to receive direction.  However, I know that this is not the case in all religious communities.  Some communities consider outsiders to be unsuitable for spiritual direction because they can't fully understand the life of the community (which I think is true enough), and the novice master/mistress may be concerned about losing some control over formation.

What is normal and/or most appropriate?  I have talked to a priest (who was a member of a religious order) who was concerned that limiting access to priests for novitiate members may be a violation of canon law and is a matter of freedom of conscience, but I've also been told by a nun (who is very orthodox, traditional, and by no means an extremist) that spiritual direction simply has to be kept in-house because outsiders can't understand the level of faith needed to live cloistered life. (She didn't mean it at all as a slight against priests, and she was speaking under the assumption that a monk-priest would not be available.  And she did agree that priests could be consulted by novitiate members on a limited basis, such as the retreat master during the community's annual retreat, but not regularly or upon request.)