An Old School Catholic Message Board

Giving Testimony

tinytherese

So I'm a second year college student at a secular college who is helping the priest at the parish with RCIA. Weeks from tonight we'll be talking about vocations. Fr. is going to give his testimony to the class on his calling, a catholic married couple is going to come talk, and then I'm supposed to talk about living the single life. I'm not totally sure how to go about this because the "single life" can go multiple directions.

It can be about being single at the moment but be preparing oneself to be married by giving oneself completely to God just like in that "Be Satisfied" prayer from "The Pure Life" on EWTN.

Or about being a time where one is still discerning one's vocation. Grant it, I am discerning myself.

I thought that it would be good to talk about if one is called to be permanently single, say a consecrated virgin for example. I'd just like the catechumens to know that it is okay to remain single.

How do I go about this in an RCIA context?

There are plenty of single people out there who are not consecrated virgins, you are talking about a very small minority. Many people do not marry, that does not mean their life is any less rich. I chose not to marry, though have had my share of relationships. I have a very successful career and successful personal life. There are many of us out there, though the church generally does not seem to include singles in the life of the church. It is good that this priest has mentioned them.
I feel that people might be interested in hearing about consecrated virgins, but that is not what the single life is all about. It is not always a waiting zone until a vocation or spouse comes along, it is a choice.