An Old School Catholic Message Board

Hey, I'm New Here

Monica

Hey every1

i'm sorta new here!

a little bit about me...i'm 22, attend the University of Virginia, and i work as a kindergarten teacher half-time.

I grew up in a home where my parents, disatisfied with their "former" Baptist faith, went "denomination-shopping", and until i was about 5 we attended different denomination's churches, until finally settling in the Presbyterian one, partly because my uncle is a presbyterian pastor. ;)

In my teens i was very involved in my church and in Christian organizations. But in the last two years, i have grown increasingly unconfortable with my faith. at first i thought (when cracks started to appear in the Prsbyterian wall i had built around myself) maybe the presbyterian faith wasn't for me, though my parents thought this is a "stage". But other denominations seemed just as silly, just a whole bunch of hand-swaying and rock n' roll and superficial srrmons.

So i started reading the bible again (i had left it when i was 18) and cracks started to apear, many of those doctrinbes i knew so well seemed to be completely unscriptural! Finally i thought there must be a church closer to the one the apostles founded than Protestantism. So i went to a Greek Orthdox church and absolutely loved it. But my parents had a cow and begged me to at leats consider the Epicopalian churchj, the closest you can come to the orthodox church and still be protestant.

i am interested in the catholic faith. i want to learn more about it. It seems to me AND I HIGHLY DOUBT IT, but it seems that the catholic church may be the answer. MAY be.

I only ask you to remember that I'm still Protestant, and hoping that this is a "stage" in life. I don't want to convert, but i'll do whatever god asks me to. I am vaguely aware of some of the catholic faith, having met few catholics, and having grown up in an extremely anti-catholic home.