An Old School Catholic Message Board

Divine Office In A Discerner's Life

Rosa immaculata

Rosa immaculata

Ave Maria!

Dear all, I am wondering what place has or has to be the Divine Office in our life? Do you read it often or occasionely, and why do you like it?

Personnaly, I really like it and with the time, I begin to feel that he expresses the best the" feelings" of the Holy Church (Sorrow or Joy) and in reality my own feelings ... but I can't today read it entirely, I am just beginning to read it partly (some psalms, hymns etc). My favourite Office is the Matins (normal! I love the Franciscan Sisters of the Immaculate and Poor Clares!!), I really love the Hymn at the beginning, and also the Hymn in the Lauds... Every sister has to have a heart of a poetry, I think, because the Psalms are marvellous poems of Love... and as I am rather attracted by contemplative life, I am wondered by the fact that every day, always at the same hour, we go to the choir to praise the Lord, to afflict and rejoice with the Church in God, with the Angels, night and day...

So I would have like to have your opinions, advises and thoughts about this marvellous treasury of the Holy Church! :)

You are reading A Right to Be Merry, it seems, and Mother speaks beautifully on the role of the Divine Office in the contemplative's life.

Many discerners find it beneficial to say Morning and Evening Prayer (if using the basic Christian Prayer book) of the Divine Office. Personally, I found that the Divine Office took on new flesh when I was accepted to my community, because throughout the day I know when they are praying the various hours..

[left]Also, for me, the Divine Office became extremely poignant after I fell in love with the Poor Clare Colettines. The psalms start to jump out at you:[/left]
[center]"Seven times a day I praise you." Ps 119[/center]
[center]"With praise will I awake the dawn." Ps 57[/center]
[center][size=4]"Let my prayer rise before You like incense,