An Old School Catholic Message Board

Theology of the Body

srmarymichael

Dear Fellow Phatmassers,

I would like to begin this thread because it is a very important topic to me. As I study and hear about the Theology of the Body, I realize that most people think about what it means for married people, or for those dating, etc.

As a Sister, I'd like to study the topic and learn more about what this means for Sisters, priests, brothers, single people, etc.

I am an amateur myself on this topic. I have listened to the tapes by Christopher West (2 or 3 times!). I have read his book about marriage and so forth. I need to read and study more. So, as this thread begins, I will try to share with you what I learn. I welcome others to give their input to help enlighten us all!

For me, so far anyway, it has made a big difference in my prayer life. To realize that we truly are Brides of Christ and what that means for me as a Sister -- Wow! I tell people that I truly am married. So, let the discussion begin! :saint:

daugher-of-Mary

One of the blogger-priests at ragemonkey.blogspot.com gave a whole retreat about TOB and religious life to the consecrated women of his diocese. Perhaps you could talk him into writing a few articles for phatmass?

Fides_et_Ratio

TOTB underscores the higher calling that a vow of celibacy entails... namely, giving up sexual relations with another for the sake of the Kingdom of God. It is a high calling.

Some of you may be wondering what the "Theology of the Body" is all about. I'll try to begin to explain it.