An Old School Catholic Message Board

Operating System

Lounge Daddy

I am a smooth operator, and I use  

47 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

Lounge Daddy

[quote name='scardella' post='1920554' date='Jul 15 2009, 10:56 AM']Yup. Mac user here.
Also use windows at work and Linux once in a while.[/quote]

I've never used any mac os since the early 80s. lol
Tell me, why do you tend to use mac over Linux?

loveletslive

[quote name='puellapaschalis' post='1920544' date='Jul 15 2009, 09:27 AM']I've switched allegiances.[/quote]

me too :) i switched a few weeks ago.

kenrockthefirst

I recently partitioned the hard drive on my Dell laptop and added Ubuntu. I was fed up with waiting for Windows XP to boot. If I need to (only) do anything Web-related, I fire up Ubuntu. I clocked power on to browser launch - Firefox, natch - at just over a minute.

Unfortunately, for certain apps, e.g. iTunes, I must still use Windows.

LouisvilleFan

[quote name='Lounge Daddy' post='1920559' date='Jul 15 2009, 12:19 PM']I've never used any mac os since the early 80s. lol
Tell me, why do you tend to use mac over Linux?[/quote]

I find OS X to provide the most polished and stable experience... there are bugs and some things I don't like (such as creating a screen print, which is so much easier in Windows it's not even funny), but overall it's cleaner and more efficient. I don't have to work through lots of menus to find a program and everything like iTunes and the DVD player are integrated so well.

[quote name='kenrockthefirst' post='1920579' date='Jul 15 2009, 01:07 PM']I recently partitioned the hard drive on my Dell laptop and added Ubuntu. I was fed up with waiting for Windows XP to boot. If I need to (only) do anything Web-related, I fire up Ubuntu. I clocked power on to browser launch - Firefox, natch - at just over a minute.